Home > Culture, Music > Orchestral Performances of Korean Pop Music – with some extras!

Orchestral Performances of Korean Pop Music – with some extras!

Well, this was not all intended to be my next post, but since this is actually just a compilation of posts I just made on Facebook, I figured it would be easy to post right away. It is, after all, relevant to the themes of this blog.

[Amateur / school performances ahead, so don’t expect perfect music!] So I was checking out updates on Talk To Me In Korean‘s Facebook page and saw they posted a video of an orchestra playing Gee by SNSD (aka: Girls Generation). [Comments are below their respective videos.]

I personally never liked Gee myself – too cutesy? – but this orchestra version sounds perfect to me (apart from a couple things, such as the drummer). Makes me think of a bright and sunny scene in some Disney or Pixar film. I haven’t heard the “Up” soundtrack in a while; is that what I’m thinking? 


Now here’s KARA’s Jumping and Mister, and SNSD’s Gee and Genie – by a high school band that does a decent job.


A Chinese Orchestra plays Nobody by Wonder Girls. Makes for quite a quaint sound! Too bad you can barely hear the lower sounds, such as the cellos.


A 14-minute, 14 song medley by a school orchestra, all top songs most K-pop fans will know. But note, there will be some annoyances; first 2 minutes have a couple of nasty mistakes (but then it’s ok throughout), the camera-person moves around a few times making noise, and a couple of quick dances are…….. yeah. Anyway, 14 songs in a good arrangement makes it worth it.

If you want more, I’ll recommend the excellent Nanyang Polytechnic Chinese Orchestra. Here are my favorites:

Mr. Simple
16 (or so) song medley
DBSK’s I believe
Wedding Dress (Note, Xylophone carries melody; it took me a while to catch it)

And now…

For something completely different.

AKB48 Medley (I don’t know any, but I liked what I heard here)

El Cumbanchero! (Really upbeat Latin American song)

And to bring the human voice back…:

Aya Hirano sings Bouken Desho Desho with orchestra.

and

Aya Hirano sings God Knows with orchestra:

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

